Books, Books, Books

I decided to take the last few days off from blogging for some Family, Food and Fireworks! I hope everyone had a great 4th of July. While we were enjoying the festivities, we disconnected ourselves from the television, internet (except for a few tweets from our smart phone) and cell phones to really concentrate on the first “F”…Family! We spent a lot of time reading some of our favorite children’s books.  Here are some of the great  books we rediscovered.

“Barnyard Dance” by Sandra Boynton

Barnyard Dance by Sandra Boynton

Barnyard Dance by Sandra Boynton

This do-si-do book is Sandra Boynton’s best selling book of all time. Join the barnyard friends for a good old fashion two-steppin, party. This song book not only is catchy but it also incorporates farm animals and their sounds for a fun learning book perfect for little peanuts!

“The Giving Tree” by Shel Silverstein

The Giving Tree by Shel SilverStein

The Giving Tree by Shel SilverStein

So maybe this was more for mom and dad than for peanut, but I know its an all time classic that she will grow to love! Shel’s perspective of gift giving combined with the acceptance of one’s capacity to love paints the relationship of a boy and his tree.  The more the tree gave the more the boy wanted until there was nothing. This moving story and simple illustrations make it perfect for all ages.

“ABC” by Dr. Seuss

Dr. Seuss's ABC

Dr. Seuss’s ABC

Another classic, Dr. Seuss takes on us on an adventure through the ABC’s! With rhyming Seussical words and bright pictures this is entertaining for littlest of little ones. It never fails that I have to read this one two or three times in a row to my peanut. The very end always makes her giggle the cutest giggle; ” What begins with Z? Well I do I’m a Zizzer-Zazzer-Zeuss as you can plainly see”.

“Good Night Moon” by Margaret Wise Brown

Good Night Moon by Margaret Wise Brown

Good Night Moon by Margaret Wise Brown

This classic is an easy read for the smallest of readers. The lullaby words whisper as the child says “Goodnight” to everything in the room. The cool colors in the pictures set the mood for relaxation as the moon casts shadows over the rooms as the story progessees. This is the perfect bedtime story!

“I Love You Forever” By Robert Munsch

I Love You Forever by Robert Musch

I Love You Forever by Robert Munsch

I think I may cry just about every time I read this book. The journey of a mother and her son through life is sung by the simple words: ”

“I’ll love you forever,
I’ll like you for always,
as long as I’m living
my baby you’ll be.”

 I love saying these words to my peanut every night!
Do you have a favorite children’s book that you recommend?
Leave a Reply

