Easy Weeknight Meals: Fiesta Lime Rice

Living so close to the Mexico border, we are blessed with some of the most AweMazing Mexican food, and let me tell you I am a SUCKER for Mexican food! We are so spoiled that whenever I make Mexican food for dinner I have to go to the popular local restaurant to buy our tortillas. It’s the kind of restaurant where they have the ladies in the front window making fresh tortilla by hand and served to you hot off the grill-Oh, my mouth is watering already. We have become so spoiled with our fresh tortillas that my husband refuses, yes REFUSES to eat store-bought tortillas.  He claims the tortillas make the meal, which means we need to drive 45 each way to pick up these tortillas. I’ve created a monster, although I do agree with him, these handmade tortillas are beyond AweMazing!

Anyways, whenever I make Mexican food I am always trying to find a side dish besides the standard mexican rice and refried beans..Boring! Well, I have found it! Thanks to SkinnyTaste.com, I have found a side dish that provides extra nutrients and fills the family up. I even like adding this to one of the  fabulous tortillas and eating it plain with a slice of Avocado! Yum! So next time you make Mexican food or need an easy side dish for that neighborhood BBQ, try this easy Fiesta Lime Rice Dish! Everyone will be AweMazed!

Fiesta Lime Rice- Photo Courtesy of SkinnyTaste.com

Fiesta Lime Rice- Photo Courtesy of SkinnyTaste.com

Fiesta Lime Rice

  • 1 1/2 cups cooked long grain rice
  • 3/4 cup canned black beans, rinsed and heated
  • 3/4 cup cooked corn (I use fresh corn when in season or Trader Joes Frozen Corn), heated
  • 1 large tomato, diced
  • 1 large scallion, diced fine
  • 2-4 tbsp chopped cilantro (to your liking)
  • 1 tbsp fresh squeezed lime juice
  • salt to taste

In a large bowl, combine hot rice, heated corn, heated beans, tomato, scallion, cilantro, lime juice and salt if needed. Toss and serve.

Yep it’s that easy and even more delicious!

Hope you have an AweMazing Weekend!

XOXO

Leave a Reply

